Presenting a fine portrait of the American Bark GEORGE KINGMAN sailing past South Stack Lighthouse, the first signaling station on the approach toLliverpool. Beyond are the Holy and Anglesey Islands' Welsh Coasts, and on Holyhead is the second station of the chain of 11 leading to the Mersey River and Liverpool roper. Between the sailing ship and the coast, the Irish Sea bursts in Liverpool School's stylized short, green swells with a nice touch of white spray prominent. Hughes painted with vibrant depth of light and shadow.
Launched in 1865, GEORGE KINGMAN was built in Newburyport,Mmass. By John Currier. She was first owned by several Philadelphia area parties, including her first captain, Daniel Howes. Stephen Hammend later took the helm and was in command at the time of this painting, sailing her on the 14th voyage across the Atlantic and back to Philadelphia. On approach to Liverpool, she already has her pilot jack at the fore top, her American Ensign aft, and is markedly displaying her name pennant so the merchants and chandeliers know whom is arriving and what American goods will soon be available.
This painting was featured on an August 1998 segment of "Antiques Road Show". It comes with a 1873 document of settlement of account for the ship's 14th voyage under Stephen G. Hammend.
first name :